You are here: Home / About Us / Fields of activity / Canada / Saint Jude

Saint Jude


The parish of St. Jude is part of the St. Hyacinthe district. It encompasses all the land of the St. Ours seigniory as well as the land north of the Yamaska River all the way to the parish of St. Ours.

In June 1909, Father Elphège Filiatrault, with the consent of the school board, asked Mother du Coeur de Jesus (Marie-Louise Bouchard), superior general, for sisters for the town school. The request was granted.

Sister Marie-Joseph (Adéle Dancause)
Sister St. Ambroise (Virginie Desmarais)
Sister Marie du Carmel (Marguerite Girard)

On November 14, 1960, the sisters moved into their residence in the new central school of St. Jude.

In the summer of 1974, the sisters left the parish after being dedicated for 65 years to educating the local children.

Go back to last page